Changes Coming to 3rd and 4th Courts of Appeals

With some notable exceptions, yesterday was a good day for incumbents running for re-election to the Texas appellate courts.

Texas Supreme Court Justices Nathan Hecht and Don Willett retained their seats. Though not an incumbent, former district judge John Devine did not have a major-party opponent and won election easily. On the Court of Criminal Appeals, Presiding Judge Sharon Keller and Judges Barbara Parker Hervey and Elsa Alcala each prevailed in their respective races.

In Austin, Republican challenger Scott Field defeated Justice Diane Henson for Place 3 on the Third Court of Appeals. Henson’s impending departure will leave Chief Justice Woodie Jones as the court’s lone Democrat.

San Antonio saw a significant shakeup, with Democratic challengers defeating three Republican Fourth Court of Appeals incumbents. Patricia Alvarez unseated Justice Rebecca Simmons for Place 3, Luz Elena Chapa unseated Justice Steven Hilbig for Place 4, and Rebeca C. Martinez unseated Justice Phylis Speedlin for Place 7. Justices Marialyn Barnard and Karen Angelini held onto their posts in close races.

Join the discussion One Comment

  • GDBJD says:

    Rebecca Simmons appears to have won. SOS reports 653,150 votes for J. Simmons and 647,726 votesĀ for Alvarez.